But it’s a huge personal value for me, because I was my own worst critic. I was trying to do so much in achieving and succeeding by all these criteria I had. It was really when I started to see myself in a far kinder, more compassionate light, that I would just say to myself, like, Are you just trying your best? Just ease up. – Dr. Sally Safa

What drives you to honor your values when it’s difficult to do so?

“Love.” “Being true to myself and having self-compassion.”  “Knowing that everyone is fighting their own battles.” “I want people to be honest, so I need to be honest myself.” “I owe it to my family to be my best, because they rely on me.” “Remembering the web of connection: What we do to one person affects others.” “My hope and belief that if I follow through with those values, I can help make the world just a little bit better.” 

What values do you live by every day?

“Helping and uplifting others, and gratitude, joy, and love.” FayeStanhope, NJ “Fairness, kindness, and integrity, which I express through loving-kindness meditation: May I be kind to myself and others; May I show fairness in my behavior and decisions; And may I demonstrate integrity in my actions.” JosephRockaway, NJ “Honesty, willingness to keep communication open in both my personal and professional life, love for nature and animals, and really appreciating the time I have.” Florina Chicago, IL “Kindness. I act by giving whatever I can to whomever needs it. The reciprocity of a smile or simply the act itself is worth more to me than what I have given, every time. We are both rewarded.” JulieBear Dance, MT

Has mindfulness helped you succeed at sticking to your principles?

93% say yes, they feel it has helped. 7% say they don’t think so.

Next question

What’s a ritual you do that helps you connect to your inner power?

Send an email to [email protected] and let us know your answer. Your response could appear on this page.