I decided to get locs for several reasons. One of the main reasons was because I was bored with my loose natural hair and needed a change. Locs are so beautiful, and I’ve always loved how they looked on other people, so I was excited to see how they would transform my own look. Locs are also so easy to care for—and if that’s not a good reason to do something with your hair, I don’t know what is! I get many questions on how I transitioned from others curious about trialing the look. So for all other natural girls, here are some tips to help if you are considering transitioning from loose natural hair to locs.

	Loose Hair to Locs: Top Tips From My Hair Locing Journey	

Research

Doing your research is so essential when it comes to how you want to start your locs. There are so many ways to start locs; from the two strand twist method, to comb coils to loc extensions. Make sure you do a ton of research and make sure you are comfortable with the way you start. Loc-ing your hair is a huge decision (and it’s permanent!), so my most significant piece of advice is to do your research.

Be Patient

It can be tough seeing other people’s beautiful locs that you get impatient. But this journey is not for impatient people. Locs take a lot of time and patience. There will be weeks that you go without washing your hair.  You also have to be very gentle when you first start your locs so that they don’t unravel. The process is a long one, and your hair may not completely loc until a year in. Always remember that your loc journey is a learning process and you have to find what works just as you did with loose natural hair. What works for one person might not work for you. Don’t get discouraged, stay the course, and the results will be rewarding. 

Find the Right Loctician

Finding the right person to help you start your loc journey is probably one of the essential tips I have. You want to make sure that this person understands your hair’s needs because this will be the person caring for your hair. This is if you decide to go with a professional.  I decided to go with an expert because I wanted my hair to look a certain way, and I knew that I could not create the look I wanted myself. A loctician will take you through the entire process. They should explain everything to you from how they are starting your locs, to what type of pattern you will have. I visit my loctician monthly for maintenance, which includes washing and retwisting my hair. 

Tips for In Between Seeing Your Loctician

In between going to your loctician, you should make sure that you keep your scalp moisturized with an oil, like the Love Beauty and Planet Sandalwood & Grapeseed Natural Oils Infusion and make sure to always sleep with a satin bonnet or scarf to prevent breakage. You can also use a leave-in conditioner such as the TRESemme Botanique Nourish & Replenish Mist to keep your hair moisturized throughout the day. Just pop it in your bag and spritz it whenever you feel the need. 

Loc-ing Your Hair: The Process

The process of locing your hair can be different for many people since there are many ways that you can start your locs. You can start with two-strand twists like I did or you can also start with comb coils, loc extensions or interlocking.  If you’re tight on time and can’t see your loctician, you can try these simple steps to locing at home.

Routine Changes from Loose Natural to Locs

My routine has changed in the sense that I don’t have to manipulate my hair as much. I only go to my loctician every month to get my hair washed and retwisted. It’s a simpler process but it still requires me to take care of my hair. I oil my scalp every 3 days and use a mixture of water and oil to keep it moisturized daily.  Are you thinking of transitioning from a loose natural to locs?

Loose Hair to Locs  Undergoing the Hair Transition - 28